Review: Every Ugly Word by Aimee L. Salter

every ugly

When seventeen-year-old Ashley Watson walks through the halls of her high school, bullies taunt and shove her. She can’t go a day without fighting with her mother. And no matter how hard she tries, she can’t make her best friend, Matt, fall in love with her. But Ashley also has something no one else does: a literal glimpse into the future. When Ashley looks into the mirror, she can see her twenty-three-year-old self.

Her older self has been through it all already–she endured the bullying, survived the heartbreak, and heard every ugly word her classmates threw at her. But her older self is also keeping a dark secret: Something terrible is about to happen to Ashley. Something that will change her life forever. Something even her older self is powerless to stop.

Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and The List, Every Ugly Word is a gripping and emotional story about the devastating consequences of bullying.

This is a new release of the previously self-published title Breakable.

review2

Every Ugly Word is an awesome book about a survivor of bullying.  The heroine has a paranormal advantage that none of us do, however,  but the author still manages to give hope to those who suffer at the hands of teenage bullies.  She is the average introverted, misunderstood teen girl with a crush on her best friend and a horrible home life.  The perspectives the author gives are insightful enough that I knew immediately she had lived through it herself.  Perhaps not exactly as the heroine did, perhaps not exactly as I did, perhaps not exactly as many young girls are right now.  That part doesn’t matter, just that she dealt with it and made it through the other side.

She weaves the paranormal side  into the heroines story in a way that keeps you on the edge of your seat, waiting to see what will happen next.  The mother is cold and distant, the boyfriend is a typical male, the best friend is typically dense, in other words, these are characters we all know intimately.  I couldn’t stop reading it once I started.  I had to find out how it ended.

I highly recommend this as required reading for all pre-teens, teens, even young adults.  There is some violence and the themes are a bit complex for a younger reader, in my opinion, but then, its not written for them.  There is romance, angst, action, drama, everything you could want is between the covers of this book.  Buy it.  Read it.  Pass it on to those who need it.

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1008804579

Buy:

Advertisements

Posted on July 30, 2014, in Paranormal Romance & Author's That Rock. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Jade Aurora Waters

Bedtime stories...and more...

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Jeanne Fury

Could we have everything louder than everything else?

Vicky Combs - The Vixen

Vicky Combs owner of The Vixen and friend of my author Anna Dubois.

WordPress Tavern

WordPress News — Free as in Beer.

Thrill of the Chaste

Personal experiences in the world of Male Chastity

Lady Smut

We know what we like...

Welcome To CJAsher.com

Sexual News, Events and Resources... For Every Lifestyle!

Christina Mandara

Erotica, BDSM, Bondage and More...

Lace Winter

Romance Novels with an Erotic Edge

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

Romance Novel Giveaways

♥ Freebie and Giveaways of all things romance ♥

SEX w/ Annie

Lets talk about Sex. It's so important in any relationship. This site should give you some ideas on how to put the spice back into your relationship.

Freedom Hunter

Wear the World like a Loose Garment

E J Frost

Writer of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Hard Romance

Wicked Wednesday

Be wickedly sexy or sexily wicked!

Stormy Night Publications

Publishers of BDSM and Kink Erotica

Mia Kerick

Love is What I See

Being Blacksilk

Real sex, real kink. Erotic fiction, photos and drawings. Sex toy reviews.

Beauty's Punishments

Book Reviews and News You Can Use

Alice Dark - BentAlice

Your Daily Spanking

Mary Wehr

SEXY SPANKING ROMANCE

Chelle Bliss

Author of the Love at Last series

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

UF & PNR Series Bibliophile

This is for lovers of UF & PNR series discussion.

Books by Alyna Nyx

a.k.a. Author Cassandra Burchett

irobert.me

The internet home of Robert Emmett

Anastasia Vitsky

Governing Ana: Spanks, spoons, and happily ever after

erzabetbishop

Erotic romance with an edge

SSLYblog

Smile Somebody Loves You!

Jade Aurora Waters

Bedtime stories...and more...

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Jeanne Fury

Could we have everything louder than everything else?

Vicky Combs - The Vixen

Vicky Combs owner of The Vixen and friend of my author Anna Dubois.

WordPress Tavern

WordPress News — Free as in Beer.

Thrill of the Chaste

Personal experiences in the world of Male Chastity

Lady Smut

We know what we like...

Welcome To CJAsher.com

Sexual News, Events and Resources... For Every Lifestyle!

Christina Mandara

Erotica, BDSM, Bondage and More...

Lace Winter

Romance Novels with an Erotic Edge

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

Romance Novel Giveaways

♥ Freebie and Giveaways of all things romance ♥

SEX w/ Annie

Lets talk about Sex. It's so important in any relationship. This site should give you some ideas on how to put the spice back into your relationship.

Freedom Hunter

Wear the World like a Loose Garment

E J Frost

Writer of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Hard Romance

Wicked Wednesday

Be wickedly sexy or sexily wicked!

Stormy Night Publications

Publishers of BDSM and Kink Erotica

Mia Kerick

Love is What I See

Being Blacksilk

Real sex, real kink. Erotic fiction, photos and drawings. Sex toy reviews.

Beauty's Punishments

Book Reviews and News You Can Use

Alice Dark - BentAlice

Your Daily Spanking

Mary Wehr

SEXY SPANKING ROMANCE

Chelle Bliss

Author of the Love at Last series

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

UF & PNR Series Bibliophile

This is for lovers of UF & PNR series discussion.

Books by Alyna Nyx

a.k.a. Author Cassandra Burchett

irobert.me

The internet home of Robert Emmett

Anastasia Vitsky

Governing Ana: Spanks, spoons, and happily ever after

erzabetbishop

Erotic romance with an edge

SSLYblog

Smile Somebody Loves You!

%d bloggers like this: