Giveaway: I, Kidney by Chris Six

BookCover_IKidney

I, Kidney

By Chris Six

Joe Zizzi’s childhood in the 1950s had everything a kid could want–pro athlete dad, wonderful mom, cool big bro. When the ’60s kick in, this ideal life is violently shaken: a car crash claims his mother’s life and his father’s career, and brother Matt becomes distant and disturbed. Over the years, Joe learns to cope and carves out a niche for himself as a college sports star, and later as a coach and writer, but he can’t quite shake the family legacy. Diagnosed with kidney failure, the semi-pro husband and devoted dad has life-and-death decisions to make–and life wins, though perhaps only by a slim margin.

excerpt

One day, when I really hadn’t slept at all except for maybe an hour and I fell asleep the minute I hit the chair and they had to wake me to get a standing BP, I almost didn’t feel them poking. Except they had trouble and they called a second tech over to poke. They called for a third tech, and the guy who calls himself Mickey Mouse came over to poke. I felt my arm starting to blow up, both internally and externally.

“Doesn’t feel too good, y’know? At all.”

“We’ve gone through.”

“What? Gone through what?”

“Right through.”

“Right through the arm?” I tried to crane my head to see the needle sticking out the other side. Morbid curiosity.

“No, it went through the vein.”

I started praying–granted, with a few cuss words thrown in. They tie an ice bag to the arm with a blue rubber tourniquet, the item they use to make the vein stick out in the first place. The arm is ballooning. My eyes are out on stalks. I feel the sensation of all my blood draining from my body and wonder whether this is it. I look to observe the pools of blood dripping out of every pore in the arm; there are none. The thing is a horrible color, a horrible size, a horrible sight. And they tell me to come back tomorrow.

“At a reasonable hour?”

“At the usual hour.”

I spent the rest of the day at home, asleep, getting out only to refresh my ice pack. Next day I was back. Thank God, it went terrifically. What were the odds?

review2

**4 fangs**

This was a good but hard read for me. It definitely would not have been something I would’ve searched for on my own, but I am glad to have come across it. I’ve had relatives and friends that suffer from a terminal illness/disease, but to hear Joe’s story of dealing with a terminal disease that is hereditary is a different point of view. I can appreciate the struggle of those patients more so now from this story. Joe watches his cruel/indifferent brother struggle with illness and Matt’s perspective on life changes Joe a little. He also witnesses his father struggle through kidney illness however he doesn’t get the full impact of this disease with his brother or father. He only finds out what this disease can really do to a person when he starts displaying symptoms. The struggle really beats him up mentally and he struggles day to day to continue the fight.

This read kind of like a memoir book and I’m not usually a fan of those so it took me a little longer than usual to complete this book, but I am so glad that I did. I developed a new perspective and appreciation for terminal patients. Their physical struggle is horrible, but the mental strain they also go through really makes you appreciate any day that they have a smile on their face.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/0989918246

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Chris Six is a writer, the chief everything officer of The Chris Six Group, and the recipient of somebody else’s kidney: “I narrated the story onto tape before I ever wrote a word. I even brought my recorder to dialysis and upset the technicians. Nowadays, I’m in awe of indie authors doing hands-on marketing. I couldn’t imagine doing this even five years ago.”

facebook.com/TheChrisSixGroup

@TheChrisSixGrou

Amazon buy link to come

http://www.thechrissixgroup.com

 Chris Six will be awarding a $15 Amazon/Barnes & Noble gift card to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour, and a $25 Amazon/Barnes & Noble gift card to a randomly drawn host.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

BBT_TourBanner_IKidney copy

Posted on January 2, 2015, in Paranormal Romance & Author's That Rock. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. What I liked abt this was the fact he lived through this and was still able to keep a sense of humour. He is a survivor and is willing to share his story:) Being a nurse, it is hard to help patients sometimes, as they give up- this author didn’t and I admire that!

  2. Wow. I admire him that he went through all of this and was able to laugh and have a sense of humor about stuff. People dont realize what others with health problems go through. This is so Awesome that he was so willing to stand up and share his story with others. That is so cool. Thanks for the give away

  3. Irma Jurejevčič

    I like meeting new authors.

  4. Thanks, Lisa! It’s great to hear from people in health care, and I’m hoping that more folks in the field will get to know about the book. We could have used a few of you in the center where I had my dialysis!

  5. Dear Brriske, I’m just settling my brain for the day and doing everything completely backwards–thank you so much for your review. I knew from the beginning that I, Kidney wouldn’t be to many readers’ tastes, but the messages needed to be out there, especially about the inner lives of people with chronic illness. Your words let me know I did a good job! Thanks for spotlighting the book here.

  6. Dear SonyaKeith, thank you for your kind comments. When I was first struggling with my illness, and while I was in dialysis, my sense of humor was about the only thing keeping me on the planet! I knew early in treatment that kidney disease needed to be demystified for people (including raw patients like me), so translating my experiences into a novel made the most sense. From your reaction, I’d say it works–thanks!

  7. Good morning, Irma! It’s great meeting readers on this blog tour–hope you’ll check out the other excerpts on the Amazon book page, and on the Chris Six Group website. Enjoy a great day!

  8. My computer wants to knock off work for the day–seriously, I’ve lost Facebook twice and Outlook once. Everybody enjoy your weekend, and thanks for the comments and the great review!

  9. Sounds like a great book

  10. Nice review

    • Hello again…the reviews are just starting, and I can’t wait to see more. Working to get the word out to patients, caregivers, and healthcare personnel. Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

Jade Aurora Waters

Bedtime stories...and more...

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Jeanne Fury

Could we have everything louder than everything else?

Domme Luck

Writings of a Domme in Paradise

Vicky Combs - The Vixen

Vicky Combs owner of The Vixen and friend of my author Anna Dubois.

WordPress Tavern

WordPress News — Free as in Beer.

Thrill of the Chaste

Personal experiences in the world of Male Chastity

Lady Smut

We know what we like.

Welcome To CJAsher.com

Sexual News, Events and Resources... For Every Lifestyle!

Christina Mandara

Erotica, BDSM, Bondage and More...

Lace Winter

Romance Novels with an Erotic Edge

CinnamonAndSparkles

Cinnamon bites and kisses simultaneously. Vanta Bonna

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

Romance Novel Giveaways

♥ Freebie and Giveaways of all things romance ♥

SEX w/ Annie

Lets talk about Sex. It's so important in any relationship. This site should give you some ideas on how to put the spice back into your relationship.

Freedom Hunter

Wear the World like a Loose Garment

Wicked Wednesday & more

Be wickedly sexy or sexily wicked!

Stormy Night Publications

Publishers of BDSM and Kink Erotica

Mia Kerick

Love is What I See

Being Blacksilk

Real sex, real kink. Erotic fiction, photos and drawings. Sex toy reviews.

The Mynx Blog

Our Journey as a Married D/s Couple

Beauty's Punishments

Book Reviews and News You Can Use

A Good Woman's Dirty Mind

Real Sex for Real People

Alice Dark - BentAlice

Your Daily Spanking

Vampy and Racey Bookblog

Sharing a love of books - paranormal romance and Racey books

Mary Wehr

SEXY SPANKING ROMANCE

Chelle Bliss

Author of the Love at Last series

Book Blogger Directory

The Big Blog of Book Blogs

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

UF & PNR Series Bibliophile

This is for lovers of UF & PNR series discussion.

Exile on Peachtree Street

Hunter S. Jones. Author. Atlanta GA

Books by Alyna Nyx

a.k.a. Author Cassandra Burchett

irobert.me

The internet home of Robert Emmett

Anastasia Vitsky

Governing Ana: Spanks, spoons, and happily ever after

erzabetbishop

Erotic romance with an edge

Sotia Lazu

author and daydreamer

SSLYblog

Smile Somebody Loves You!

Jolynn Raymond's Dark Obsessions

Steamy Erotica That Will Knock Your Socks Off!

Jade Aurora Waters

Bedtime stories...and more...

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Jeanne Fury

Could we have everything louder than everything else?

Domme Luck

Writings of a Domme in Paradise

Vicky Combs - The Vixen

Vicky Combs owner of The Vixen and friend of my author Anna Dubois.

WordPress Tavern

WordPress News — Free as in Beer.

Thrill of the Chaste

Personal experiences in the world of Male Chastity

Lady Smut

We know what we like.

Welcome To CJAsher.com

Sexual News, Events and Resources... For Every Lifestyle!

Christina Mandara

Erotica, BDSM, Bondage and More...

Lace Winter

Romance Novels with an Erotic Edge

CinnamonAndSparkles

Cinnamon bites and kisses simultaneously. Vanta Bonna

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

Romance Novel Giveaways

♥ Freebie and Giveaways of all things romance ♥

SEX w/ Annie

Lets talk about Sex. It's so important in any relationship. This site should give you some ideas on how to put the spice back into your relationship.

Freedom Hunter

Wear the World like a Loose Garment

Wicked Wednesday & more

Be wickedly sexy or sexily wicked!

Stormy Night Publications

Publishers of BDSM and Kink Erotica

Mia Kerick

Love is What I See

Being Blacksilk

Real sex, real kink. Erotic fiction, photos and drawings. Sex toy reviews.

The Mynx Blog

Our Journey as a Married D/s Couple

Beauty's Punishments

Book Reviews and News You Can Use

A Good Woman's Dirty Mind

Real Sex for Real People

Alice Dark - BentAlice

Your Daily Spanking

Vampy and Racey Bookblog

Sharing a love of books - paranormal romance and Racey books

Mary Wehr

SEXY SPANKING ROMANCE

Chelle Bliss

Author of the Love at Last series

Book Blogger Directory

The Big Blog of Book Blogs

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

UF & PNR Series Bibliophile

This is for lovers of UF & PNR series discussion.

Exile on Peachtree Street

Hunter S. Jones. Author. Atlanta GA

Books by Alyna Nyx

a.k.a. Author Cassandra Burchett

irobert.me

The internet home of Robert Emmett

Anastasia Vitsky

Governing Ana: Spanks, spoons, and happily ever after

erzabetbishop

Erotic romance with an edge

Sotia Lazu

author and daydreamer

SSLYblog

Smile Somebody Loves You!

Jolynn Raymond's Dark Obsessions

Steamy Erotica That Will Knock Your Socks Off!

