GOL

GOL6

Author Name J.W. Webb
Book Title Gol
Email kayleigh@bookbear.info
Start Date of Tour (Allow at least 4 weeks notice) 06/06/2016
Author Website/Blog Link Legendsofansu.com
Book Genre Fantasy
Blurb/Synopsis of Book Gol. A continent on the brink of destruction. Once a mighty kingdom, now six provinces torn apart by treacherous barons.
In one province two young lovers strive to stay together when all else prises them apart. Lissane and
Erun must survive to guide their people through the coming storm. The odds are stacked against
them. Erun, dreamer and fool, is chosen for a dark path. Whilst Lissane is given away by her father
the baron to wed the brutal son of a rival ruler.
Meanwhile, at the far side of the world a sorcerer has freed the fire demon, Ashmali, setting off a
chain of events that could ultimately bring about Gol’s long foretold ruin. Caught between rising
seas, civil war, and approaching fire the continent’s time is fast running out.
Gol features beautiful sketches and maps by Tolkien illustrator, Roger Garland. It opens the doors on a new epic fantasy series titled Legends of Ansu. Within its content lies an sweeping tale of love, hatred, vengeance and destruction. In Gol the high courage of a few individuals is all that stands against the will of fickle gods and treachery of men.
Review Quotes I read a lot of fantasy and mythology books, so this is a genre I’m familiar with. Having read another of J.W. Webb’s books recently – “The Haven” and really enjoying it, I was curious
to see how he would deliver in this one “Gol – The Legends of Ansu”. Mr. Webb is unarguably a very talented writer, but more than that he genuinely impressed me with his thorough world-
building and sheer creativeness on many levels. All too often I read works that feel clearly derivative of other books, and although I appreciate literary influences (as is felt here as well),
when something this original comes along it is a refreshing change of pace! Some of the writing was downright lyrical in the simple elegance of the prose, and other times I was nearly breathless
from the intensity and violent passion. For such a long book I finished it in less than a week, and went through so many highs and lows, it felt like a rollercoaster. I was hoping for a different
ending, but it was bittersweet (and more powerful this way) nonetheless. A must read for fans of high fantasy. (5 stars)

2. I really enjoyed “Gol” by author J.W. Webb, even though “epic” fantasy isn’t usually one of my more preferred genres (don’t dislike it, just don’t generally gravitate). But I recently read
another book by this author, “the Haven” , and I like watching “Game of Thrones” so I gave it a
shot. I was really impressed! I really liked the drawings (and the map), and thought that Mr. Webb did such a wonderful job with the descriptions of the world and the different characters. There are SO many of them it’s hard to keep track (there is a useful guide at the end), but I did fall in love with Lissane and Erun and was so shocked at some things that happened. Emotionally engaging and with lots of action. Some language, especially towards the last half
(book 2) but other than that it feels pretty suitable for mature teens on up. I had a great time
reading this! (5 stars)

3. This book was great… lots of fun to read and very creative. Describing it is a hard task! All sorts of interesting characters, creatures, humans, and non-humans, and a terrific mix of
fantasy, adventure, and danger and magic. Although I did think the beginning started off kind of slow until I got more of a feel about this new world and the characters and their backgrounds,
once things got moving along I really got hooked. I liked that it was so descriptive that we can really put ourselves inside Gol and the various character’s perspectives. Fabulous narrative prose
and the language was very authentic. Recommend for fantasy fans who want a fun, literary read. Looking forward to the next one of the Legends of Ansu!
4. Fast-paced, well written and creative, “Gol” (Legends of Ansu book 1) from J.W. Webb is an absolute must-read for fans of novels such as Lord of the Rings, Game of Thrones, Merlin,
Mists of Avalon, etc. “Gol” holds its own with the top-notch writing and plot structure, and an exciting, varied cast of colorful characters and plenty of magic and thrills to go around. There are some familiar tropes here (as with most fantasy), however, I feel Mr. Webb did a great job of bringing in a unique voice and making the story wholly his own, and giving it a fresh feel. I didn’t feel like I’ve read this million times before. A few things, I thought at times there was way too much “telling” instead of showing. Not too bad, but some parts dragged toward the middle.
But an engrossing story with near perfect editing, and I’m ready for the next one! (4-5 stars)

Amazon Link Smarturl.it/golt
Advertisements

Posted on June 25, 2016, in Paranormal Romance & Author's That Rock. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Jade Aurora Waters

Bedtime stories...and more...

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Jeanne Fury

Could we have everything louder than everything else?

Domme Luck

Writings of a Domme in Paradise

Vicky Combs - The Vixen

Vicky Combs owner of The Vixen and friend of my author Anna Dubois.

WordPress Tavern

WordPress News — Free as in Beer.

Thrill of the Chaste

Personal experiences in the world of Male Chastity

Lady Smut

We know what we like...

Welcome To CJAsher.com

Sexual News, Events and Resources... For Every Lifestyle!

Christina Mandara

Erotica, BDSM, Bondage and More...

Lace Winter

Romance Novels with an Erotic Edge

CinnamonAndSparkles

Cinnamon bites and kisses simultaneously. Vanta Bonna

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

Romance Novel Giveaways

♥ Freebie and Giveaways of all things romance ♥

SEX w/ Annie

Lets talk about Sex. It's so important in any relationship. This site should give you some ideas on how to put the spice back into your relationship.

Freedom Hunter

Wear the World like a Loose Garment

Wicked Wednesday & more

Be wickedly sexy or sexily wicked!

Stormy Night Publications

Publishers of BDSM and Kink Erotica

Mia Kerick

Love is What I See

Being Blacksilk

Real sex, real kink. Erotic fiction, photos and drawings. Sex toy reviews.

The Mynx Blog

Our Journey as a Married D/s Couple

Beauty's Punishments

Book Reviews and News You Can Use

A Good Woman's Dirty Mind

Real Sex for Real People

Alice Dark - BentAlice

Your Daily Spanking

Vampy and Racey Bookblog

Sharing a love of books - paranormal romance and Racey books

Mary Wehr

SEXY SPANKING ROMANCE

Chelle Bliss

Author of the Love at Last series

Book Blogger Directory

The Big Blog of Book Blogs

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

UF & PNR Series Bibliophile

This is for lovers of UF & PNR series discussion.

Exile on Peachtree Street

Hunter S. Jones. Author. Atlanta GA

Books by Alyna Nyx

a.k.a. Author Cassandra Burchett

irobert.me

The internet home of Robert Emmett

Anastasia Vitsky

Governing Ana: Spanks, spoons, and happily ever after

erzabetbishop

Erotic romance with an edge

Sotia Lazu

author and daydreamer

SSLYblog

Smile Somebody Loves You!

Jolynn Raymond's Dark Obsessions

Steamy Erotica That Will Knock Your Socks Off!

Jade Aurora Waters

Bedtime stories...and more...

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Jeanne Fury

Could we have everything louder than everything else?

Domme Luck

Writings of a Domme in Paradise

Vicky Combs - The Vixen

Vicky Combs owner of The Vixen and friend of my author Anna Dubois.

WordPress Tavern

WordPress News — Free as in Beer.

Thrill of the Chaste

Personal experiences in the world of Male Chastity

Lady Smut

We know what we like...

Welcome To CJAsher.com

Sexual News, Events and Resources... For Every Lifestyle!

Christina Mandara

Erotica, BDSM, Bondage and More...

Lace Winter

Romance Novels with an Erotic Edge

CinnamonAndSparkles

Cinnamon bites and kisses simultaneously. Vanta Bonna

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

Romance Novel Giveaways

♥ Freebie and Giveaways of all things romance ♥

SEX w/ Annie

Lets talk about Sex. It's so important in any relationship. This site should give you some ideas on how to put the spice back into your relationship.

Freedom Hunter

Wear the World like a Loose Garment

Wicked Wednesday & more

Be wickedly sexy or sexily wicked!

Stormy Night Publications

Publishers of BDSM and Kink Erotica

Mia Kerick

Love is What I See

Being Blacksilk

Real sex, real kink. Erotic fiction, photos and drawings. Sex toy reviews.

The Mynx Blog

Our Journey as a Married D/s Couple

Beauty's Punishments

Book Reviews and News You Can Use

A Good Woman's Dirty Mind

Real Sex for Real People

Alice Dark - BentAlice

Your Daily Spanking

Vampy and Racey Bookblog

Sharing a love of books - paranormal romance and Racey books

Mary Wehr

SEXY SPANKING ROMANCE

Chelle Bliss

Author of the Love at Last series

Book Blogger Directory

The Big Blog of Book Blogs

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Creative Writing Tips and Authorial Support from Fantasy Writer Victoria Grefer

UF & PNR Series Bibliophile

This is for lovers of UF & PNR series discussion.

Exile on Peachtree Street

Hunter S. Jones. Author. Atlanta GA

Books by Alyna Nyx

a.k.a. Author Cassandra Burchett

irobert.me

The internet home of Robert Emmett

Anastasia Vitsky

Governing Ana: Spanks, spoons, and happily ever after

erzabetbishop

Erotic romance with an edge

Sotia Lazu

author and daydreamer

SSLYblog

Smile Somebody Loves You!

Jolynn Raymond's Dark Obsessions

Steamy Erotica That Will Knock Your Socks Off!

%d bloggers like this: